Institution as Agent Symposium

Institution as Agent 

Symposium format:

Part 1 – Agency

Each guest will introduce themselves / their role, their organization, with a focus on agency: how an organization or institution can enrich, expand or enable civic/cultural activity.

Part 2 – Q&A

Faculty and students will ask questions and moderate open discussion.


Hyde Park Art Center

Kate Lorenz, Executive Director

Kate Lorenz joined the Hyde Park Art Center staff in August 2002 as its Director of Development and assumed the role of Associate Director in August 2006.  In her current position, she works with board and staff in setting and following the strategic direction for the organization.


Allison Peters Quinn, Director of Exhibitions

Allison Quinn joined the staff of the Hyde Park Art Center in February 2004. Ms. Quinn is responsible for the operations of the Exhibition and Residency Programs. She also develops and proposes long-range programming for the Exhibition Committee including solicitation of artists and curators.


Megha Ralapati, Manager of the Residency Program and Special Projects

Megha joined the Art Center staff in August 2011. She manages the International Artist Residency program, which includes working with the Director of Exhibitions, Executive Director, and Advisory Committee to conceptualize and design the program and its application process. Most recently, she was Director of New York-based contemporary art gallery, Bose Pacia.


Graham Foundation

Sarah Herda, Sarah Herda is the Executive Director of the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts. Founded in 1956, Graham Foundation is the only private foundation in the United States committed to providing project-based grants to individuals and institutions working to address issues related to architecture and the built environment. In addition to the funding program, Herda oversees a public program of exhibitions, lectures, and publications produced at the foundation’s headquarters in the historic Madlener House in Chicago. Herda was the Director/Curator of the Storefront for Art and Architecture, a non-profit exhibition space in New York City, from 1998-2006.

Experimental Station

Connie Spreen

Connie Spreen co-founded the Experimental Station in 2002 with artist Dan Peterman. She holds a doctorate in French Literature and Languages from the University of Chicago (1997), where she taught from 1997-2008. In 2008, she created and assumed the position of Executive Director of Experimental Station. From 2006-2014, Connie has built a variety of Experimental Station programs, including an active Cultural Events program , Blackstone Bicycle Works , 61st Street Farmers Market.

Chicago Park District

Julia S. Bachrach
Historian and Preservationist, Chicago Park District, Chicago

Julia Bachrach received a master’s degree in landscape architecture from the University of Wisconsin. Since then, she has written extensively on historic landscapes in Chicago. Her work includes several books, including The City in a Garden: A Photographic History of Chicago’s Parks and Inspired by Nature: The Garfield Park Conservatory and Chicago’s West Side, which she co-authored with Jo Ann Nathan.

In 2008, Bachrach received a national Stewardship Excellence Award from the Cultural Landscape Foundation. Since 2010 she has served on the board of trustees for the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency.

One of her current projects includes tracing the architectural history of the Chicago Pubic Schools


Natalie Moore

As the WBEZ’s South Side reporter, Natalie covers news and issues in that community and surrounding areas.

Prior to joining the WBEZ staff in May 2007, Natalie was a city hall reporter for the Detroit News. She has also been an education reporter for the St. Paul Pioneer Press and a reporter for the Associated Press in Jerusalem.

Natalie is a 2009 fellow at Columbia College’s Ellen Stone Belic Institute for the Study of Women and Gender in the Arts and Media, which allowed her to take a reporting trip to Libya. She’s also a 2010 recipient of the Studs Terkel Community Media Award. She has won several journalism awards, including a Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s